Item	Amount	Item	Amount
Generating capacity kw. Hydro " Thermal and diesel "	2,072,328 1, <i>320,322</i> 752,006	Proportionate Sales— Residential	28 2 70
Power requirements'000 kwh. Generated" Purchased" Customers at year-endNo.	11,158,220 10,694,923 463,297 555,029	Pole Miles of Line- Transmission (high voltage) No. Distribution primaries	4,491 13,784 118,427
Electricity sold'000 kwh.	10,000,478	Capital investment (plant in opera- tion)\$'000	1,068,272

19.—Summary Statistics of the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority, Year Ended Mar. 31, 1967

Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission, formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission, was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to supply electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include the Yukon Territory. The Commission has authority to construct and operate public utility plants as required in the Territories and, subject to approval of the Governor in Council, in any other parts of Canada.

The Commission has hydro-electric power developments on the Yukon River near Whitehorse, Y.T., the Mayo River near Mayo, Y.T., the Snare River northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T., and the Taltson River northeast of Fort Smith, N.W.T. Dieselelectric plants are operated at Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution, Fort McPherson, Aklavik and Cambridge Bay, N.W.T., Dawson, Y.T., and Field, B.C., and utility plants comprising power, central heat and water and sewerage services at Inuvik and Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and at Moose Factory, Ont.

The Whitehorse Rapids power development, in service since 1958, supplies the Department of National Defence and the Department of Public Works at Whitehorse, most of the power for the city of Whitehorse, and a copper mining operation located within a few miles of Whitehorse. The two Snare River hydro developments, placed in service in 1948 and 1960, supply power to the gold mines in the Yellowknife area and to the town of Yellowknife; these two hydro plants are operated by remote control from Yellowknife. The Mayo River plant has supplied power to mining properties in the Elsa and Keno areas and to the communities of Mayo and Keno City since 1952. The Taltson River Hydro project commissioned in late 1965 and which is to date the largest Canadian power development north of the 60th parallel, supplies the lead-zinc mining operation at Pine Point, and the communities of Fort Smith and Pine Point; the plant is operated by remote control from Fort Smith.

In 1966 the Commission assumed responsibility for the operation of the Cambridge Bay diesel plant, N.W.T., and the Dawson diesel plant, Y.T. Plans for 1967 include the construction of a 115-kv. transmission line from Yellowknife to serve the settlement of Rae, N.W.T., development of a Commission-owned diesel plant at Coppermine, N.W.T., and enlargement of the generating plant at Inuvik and Cambridge Bay, N.W.T., and at Moose Factory, Ont.